Lifetime Service
  • Installed: 09/15/2011
  • Retired: 10/01/2016

  • Hours: 276,417,916
  • Jobs: 33,463,451

  • Users: 683
  • Groups: 87
  • Top Groups: PRISM, CMS, NCN

Overview of Hansen

Hansen was a compute cluster operated by ITaP and a member of Purdue's Community Cluster Program. Hansen went into production on September 15, 2011. Hansen consisted of Dell compute nodes with four 12-core AMD Opteron 6176 processors (48 cores per node) and either 96 GB, 192 GB, or 512 GB of memory. All nodes had 10 Gigabit Ethernet interconnects and a 5-year warranty. Hansen was decommissioned on October 1, 2016.

Hansen Namesake

Hansen is named in honor of Arthur G. Hansen, former Purdue president and alumnus and supercomputing proponent. More information about his life and impact on Purdue is available in an ITaP Biography of Hansen.

Hansen Detailed Hardware Specification

Hansen consisted of three logical sub-clusters, each with a different amount of memory. Hansen-A nodes had 96 GB RAM; Hansen-B, 192 GB RAM; Hansen-C, 512 GB RAM. All nodes had 10 Gigabit Ethernet interconnects.
Sub-Cluster Number of Nodes Processors per Node Cores per Node Memory per Node Interconnect TeraFLOPS
Hansen-A 103 Four 2.3 GHz 12-Core AMD Opteron 6176 48 96 GB 10 GigE 48.8
Hansen-B 93 Four 2.3 GHz 12-Core AMD Opteron 6176 48 192 GB 10 GigE 40.2
Hansen-C 5 Four 2.3 GHz 12-Core AMD Opteron 6176 48 512 GB 10 GigE 0.9

Hansen nodes ran Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 (RHEL6) and used Moab Workload Manager 8 and TORQUE Resource Manager 5 as the portable batch system (PBS) for resource and job management.

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2017 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by ITaP Research Computing

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at so we can help.